top of page

The Evil God and the Dance of the Pagan Monsters (2022)

for wind band

The first version of this work was written in 2019 as a 10-part variation piece inspired by Sergei Prokofiev's music. The composer utilized a motif from the second movement of Prokofiev's 'Scythian Suite'. This new version transformed the composition into a full orchestral piece. The work prominently features a strong pulse, repeated motifs, and cinematic atmospheres.

The woodwinds play a significant role, incorporating moments of virtuosity, while the brass section is strategically employed to infuse the music with strength and heroism. The composer opted for a refined and transparent orchestration, creating a mysterious yet exciting atmosphere.



Instrumentation | Extra Information


Flute 1 & 2

Oboe 1 & 2 (2nd Doubling Cor Anglais)

Bassoon 1 & 2

Clarinet in Eb

Solo Clarinet in Bb

Clarinet in Bb 1, 2 & 3 

Alto Clarinet in Eb

Bass Clarinet in Bb

Alto Saxophone in Eb 1 & 2

Tenor Saxophone in Bb 1 & 2

Baritone Saxophone in Eb

3 Trumpets in Bb

4 Horns in F

2 Trombones

Bass Trombone

Euphonium 1 & 2


Double Bass


Percussion (5)

- - -

Duration: ca. 14'50

'The Evil God and the Dance of the Pagan Monsters' premiered on 10 May 2022 in the Bijloke in Ghent
Performed by GUHO (Ghent University Wind Band), conducted by Dimitri Bracke

bottom of page